

Governor Ron DeSantis
The Florida Capitol
400 S. Monroe St., Plaza Level Tallahassee, FL 32399

May, 4, 2023

RE: Veto Request SB 540 - Local Government Comprehensive Plans

Dear Governor DeSantis,

On behalf of Audubon Florida and the undersigned Audubon chapters, we request that you veto SB 540. This bill would have a chilling effect on the ability of citizens to challenge poor city and county land-use decisions and fight sprawl in their own communities. Under this bill, citizens who undertake the daunting and expensive task of challenging local comprehensive plan amendments would be responsible for the attorney's fees of the local government and the developers they challenge if they are unsuccessful. The risk of an unsuccessful challenge will prove too great for most citizens and public-interest nonprofits, effectively eliminating this important avenue for taxpayers to seek remedy and accountability from their local governments.

We are grateful that the specific provision was removed in committee that would have undermined DEO's recent nullification of Miami-Dade County's decision to expand the Urban Development Boundary. However, if the county were to renew the proposal and approve it, the language remaining in SB 540 would foreclose the ability of citizens concerned about the Everglades to renew their legal challenge. If signed, this bill will pose a continuing threat not just to Everglades restoration efforts, but smart growth efforts statewide to protect natural resources and Floridians' quality of life.

Your administration has championed smart growth for the State of Florida, most recently through Executive Order 23-06, which acknowledges the importance of sustainable development for our economy and our natural resources. This bill would undermine these efforts by functionally eliminating enforceability of comprehensive plan terms, paving the way for unsustainable development.

Government transparency, accountability, and public involvement have long been civic values that our state holds dear. Citizen and public interest group challenges to comprehensive plan amendments are already uncommon due to the current existing complexity and expense. There is no problem with frivolous challenges that needs to be

remedied; in fact, the effect these changes will be to eliminate citizen challenges altogether.

On behalf of our 100,000+ person network, we urge you to safeguard citizens' rights to challenge poor local government planning decisions, to advance your smart growth agenda, and to protect historic state investments in Everglades restoration and environmental protection. Please veto SB 540.

Sincerely,

Julie Wraithmell

VP and Executive Director

Audubon Florida

Carole Bailey-White/Elizabeth Filippelli President/Director of Conservation Duval Audubon Society

Bren Curtis
President
Peace River Audubon

Teresa Floore/Brian Dusseault Co-Presidents Bay County Audubon Society

Lauren Jonaitis Senior Conservation Director Tropical Audubon Society

Richard Baker, Ph.D. Board Chair Pelican Island Audubon Society

Gerri Reaves President Audubon of Southwest Florida

Phyllis Hall President Seminole Audubon Society Mary Keith Conservation Chair Tampa Audubon Society

David Hartgrove President Halifax River Audubon

Scott Zucker President Audubon Everglades

Julie Stockdale President Eagle Audubon Society

Meichelle Long Executive Committee Clearwater Audubon Society

Ellen Lynch
President
St. Lucie Audubon Society
Valerie Thomas
Co-President
Four Rivers Audubon

Sallie Carlock President Santa Fe Audubon Society

Kathleen Carr President Apalachee Audubon Society

Bev Hansen President Hernando Audubon

Stephen Blair President Highlands County Audubon Deborah Green President Orange Audubon Society

Bill and Marsha Cox/Jane Talbot Co-Presidents/Secretary Southeast Volusia Audubon Society

Jean Pichler and Roy Musick Co-Presidents Venice Area Audubon Society

James B. Brady President Francis M. Weston Audubon Society

Jeanne Dubi President Sarasota Audubon

Amy Koch President St. Johns County Audubon Society

Arnette Sherman
President
West Volusia Audubon Society

Simona Burshteyn President South Florida Audubon Society

Christine Rowland President West Pasco Audubon

James Stahl President Space Coast Audubon

Jeannie Donohue President Kissimmee Valley Audubon Society Debbie Segal President Alachua Audubon

Steve Buczynski President, Hendry/Glades Audubon